Odisha Hydro Power Corporation Ltd.

A Gold rated State PSU( A Govt. of Odisha Undertaking )

Powering Green Energy
Sh Vishal Kumar Dev, IAS
Commissioner-cum-Secretary to Government, Sports & Youth
Services Department and Chairman-cum-Managing
Director, OHPC Ltd.

JV’s & Subsidiaries

OHPC has taken initiatives to develop Thermal, Hydro, Renewable Power projects on its own and through joint ventures and Subsidiary. DPR is under preparation for construction of Pumped Storage Scheme at Upper Indravati, Mukhiguda. The information on Subsidiary and JV companies along with details of partners of joint ventures along with present status is given below:

Name of the Company JV Partner(s) / Subsidiary  Details with present status
OTPC (Odisha Thermal Power Corporation Ltd) Odisha Mining Corporation Ltd (OMC).

OTPC has been incorporated   with Joint Venture of OHPC & OMC with 50:50 shareholdings for setting up a coal based supercritical thermal power plant of 3x 800 MW capacities at Kamakhyanagar in the District of Dhenkanal. The Land acquisition and other statutory clearance works are under progress.

BWCCL (Baitarni West Coal Company Ltd) Kerala State Electricity Board (KSEB), Gujarat Power Corporation Ltd (GPCL)

The Ministry of Coal, GoI vide letter dtd 25.07.2007 allotted the Baitarni West Coal Block (602MT) through Govt dispensation route to three State PSUs namely, KSEB, GPCL & OHPC each having one third share. A JV Company namely Baitarni West Coal Company Ltd has been incorporated by the three allocates in April, 2008. After deallocation of the Baitarni West Coal Block, the company is contemplating to apply for new Coal blocks under Government dispensation route. Regarding encashment of BG, the Hon'ble High Court of Orissa had passed an interim order in favour of BWCCL.

GEDCOL (Green Energy Development Corporation  of Odisha Ltd) Wholly Owned Subsidiary of OHPC

State Nodal Agency for On Grid Solar:
GEDCOL has been declared as nodal agency for development of on-grid solar energy projects in the State of Odisha by DoE, GoO on 22.08.2013.

20 MW Solar Project, Manamunda:
GEDCOL was allotted 20 MW Solar Power Plant at Manmunda in Boudh district under Jawaharlal Nehru National Solar Mission (JNNSM), Phase-II, Batch-I. The project has been commissioned successfully during March' 2016 (15 MW) and June 2016 (5 MW).

Rooftop Solar Project:
MNRE has sanctioned 4 MW Solar Rooftop project on the non-residential Govt. buildings in twin city of Cuttack-Bhubaneswar through PPP mode.

199 nos. of buildings have been identified (126 in Bhubaneswar and 73 in Cuttack) for taking up Roof Top installations.

In response to the Request for Proposal (RFP), M/s Azure Power India Pvt. Ltd. had quoted a project cost of Rs.8 Crores per MW and levellised tariff of Rs.5.69/kWh for 25 years.

LOA has been placed on 09.06.2016 with M/ s AZURE Power Ltd. The Project Implementation Agreement (PIA) was signed during July 2016.The project is scheduled to be completed by Sep. 2017.

Solar Park:
GEDCOL is in the process of developing Solar Park(s)  of 1000 MW capacity in a clustered manner constituting 100-200 MW capacity per Park/Project under the Ultra Mega Solar Power Park (UMSPP) Scheme of Govt. of India. DPR has been prepared for 1000 MW Solar Park Project by GEDCOL (through M/s PWC) and submitted to Ministry of New & Renewable Energy (MNRE) for approval. GEDCOL has requested Govt. of Odisha to provide Rs. 250 Cr. from Odisha Environment Management Fund Trust for alienation of Land in favour of GEDCOL through IDCO. World Bank has proposed to extend loan support (up to 50% of the Park development cost) for shared Solar infrastructure with an attractive interest rate under the 100 million USD funding support to MNRE. World Bank also suggested for engaging Consultants for Environment & Social Impact Analysis (ESIA) of the Project. World Bank is under the process of engaging consultants to assist GEDCOL to conduct the ESIA of the Project. In the 32nd ECI meeting under Chairmanship of the Chief Secretary held on 27.04.2016, it is approved that, IFC will be engaged as Transaction Advisor for the Solar Park project to be developed in a PPP mode. State Govt. is taking up with DEA, MoF, GoI for necessary concurrence in this regard. The matter is placed in the 64th Screening Committee of DEA on 30.08.2016 for decision. Technical evaluation and detail report for the balance 350 MW sites will be prepared by IFC. During the review of Chief Secretary on 23.07.2016, IDCO has been advised to identify large patches of non-agricultural Govt. land preferably in the Districts of Kalahandi, Nuapada, Boudh, Bolangir, Sundargarh, Sambalpur, Deogarh, Bargarh & Sonepur, which will be studied further for selecting alternate sites for the Solar Park.

Solar Projects in OPTCL Sub-station Premises:
GEDCOL is under process to develop Solar Plants on the un-utilized lands available inside OPTCL Grid Sub-stations at Duburi, Baripada, Bolangir, Koraput & Rairangpur including OHPC Power House at Mukhiguda. DPR has been prepared by Gujarat Energy Research & Management Institute (GERMI) for 16.4 MW capacity at these sites. Preparation of Tender for selection of EPC contractor is under process.

20 MW Solar Project by GEDCOL towards RPO of GRIDCO:
As per requisition of GRIDCO, tender has been floated by GEDCOL for selection of Solar Power Developer for construction of 20 MW grid connected Solar Power Plant. The tender evaluation is being carried out at present and expected to be finalized shortly.

Small Hydro Projects by GEDCOL: Detailed Project Report (DPR) has been prepared for 3 MW (2 X 1.5MW), Jambhira SHEP in Mayurbhanj District and 4.2 MW (2 X 2.1 MW), Kanupur SHEP in Keonjhar District and submitted to Engineer in Chief (Electricity) for execution of "Implementation Agreement." Pre-Feasibility Report (PFR) for 13 (thirteen) nos. SHEPs with approximate capacity of 168 MW have been prepared by GEDCOL. Out of these 13 SHEPs, GEDCOL has requested State Technical Committee (STC) for allotment of 4 nos. SHEPs namely, Kharag - I, II, IIA and III (Kandhamal District) of capacity 96 MW in favour of GEDCOL for development. The proposal to take up Salki - 1, 2 & 3 (Kandhamal District) projects for a capacity of about 36 MW will be submitted to STC for allotment. PFR for another SHEP namely, Garjan Khol (Angul District) of approx. 10 MW capacity is under preparation by M/s WAPCOS. GEDCOL and Steel Authority of India Limited, Rourkela have agreed to develop 15 MW, Mandira SHEP in Sundargarh District in Joint Venture mode. Preliminary survey has been completed by M/s MECON and site for installation of Power House has been finalized. DPR for the same is under preparation by M/s MECON.

OCPL (Odisha Coal and Power Limited) Odisha Power Generation Corporation Limited (OPGC).

The State Govt. of Odisha in the Department of Energy vide Letter dtd. 04.02.2015 approved the proposal of OPGC for formation of a Joint Venture Company between Odisha Power Generation Corporation (OPGC) and Odisha Hydro Power Corporation Ltd. (OHPC) with shareholding in the following ratio : OPGC : 51% OHPC : 49% The Shareholders' Agreement have been executed between OPGC, OHPC & OCPL on 21.04.2016. The project implementation work is under progress.